Relay Board for Fan Controller

   While the Fan Controller works as expected on the workbench, it doesnt activate the relay correctly once connected to the car electrical system.  I can think of two ways to get around this:

  • 1.  have the transistors activate smaller 5V relay that then activates the larger car relay. Kinda of backwards, but I think the car relay is overloading the transistor.

2.  connect another sensor that would only be hooked into the controller board.

I think the first option is the easiest right now so I salvaged a 5V relay out of a blown TRS-80 motherboard from the ’80s.  I had to create a new part in eagle, which was a learning experience.  I’ll try to etch the board later on tonight.

Leave a Reply

